Labels

Labels that other people put on us should never define who we are.

There is a children’s book by Max Lucado called “You are Special.”  Punchinello lived in village with other Wemmicks.   They decided that they would give out star stickers for Wemmicks who were talented, beautiful and smart and grey dot stickers for Wemmicks that were scuffed, had chipped paint or ones that could not do what others could do, according to their standards.  Poor Punchinello had the dots and he felt bad about himself, not even wanting to go outside.   Then he met another Wemmick, Lucia, who the labels did not stick to.  He did not understand why they did not stick to her.  She told him it because she spent time every day with Eli, the Maker.   Punchinello finally got enough nerve to go see Eli.  Punchinello asked Eli why the stickers did not stick on Lucia and Eli tells him,

“Because she has decided that what I think is more important than what they think.  The stickers only stick if you let them…the stickers only stick if they matter to you.  The more you trust my love, the less you care about their stickers.”

May we all be more like Punchinello and spend time with our Maker, so the stickers that others put on us do not define us.  We need to trust God and His love for us!  Do not let the labels stick!!

 

About Grace Filled Adventures

I am a wife, mother and home educator of 4 amazing and wonderful children. Two are still being educated at home and two have graduated and are on their own adventures. This blog is a bit of my journey as a follower of Christ, a wife, a home educating mom, and a person who grapples with the realities of life. I love to read. Occasionally will I pick up a novel, but mostly I enjoy reading non-fiction books. Mostly books to do with health and education. I love to spend time with my family in an unrushed time frame. To have fun together, to be silly, to read together and discuss things and to learn from one another as we go through life. I am on an adventure in life, trying to maintain balance and health in all areas of life and I invite you to join me on my journey!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Labels

  1. That story always makes me cry! Thanks for the reminder, Monica!

Leave a Reply

